Skip to navigation Skip to content

Cleveland Clinic

For over 90 years, the mission of Cleveland Clinic has been better care of the sick, investigation into their problems and further education of those who serve.

Cleveland Clinic was founded in 1921 as a nonprofit practice by four physicians who believed in the idea of diverse specialists working and thinking as a unit. Their collective vision of compassion, cooperation and innovation in turn fostered excellence in patient care, education and research.

These same principles endure today. Cleveland Clinic has grown into an integrated healthcare delivery system with locations in both hemispheres, linked by information technology, critical care transport and a collaborative model of medicine.

Cleveland Clinic is organized into patient-centered institutes based around single diseases or organ systems. Each institute combines medical services at the same location under the same leadership to improve patient care and experience. The Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health is part of the multidisciplinary Cleveland Clinic Neurological Institute, which includes neurosurgery and psychiatry. The center provides care and research for patients with Alzheimer's, Huntington's Parkinson's frontotemporal dementia, and multiple sclerosis.

Cleveland Clinic has grown through the years by putting the needs of patients first. Each year thousands of patients travel to Cleveland Clinic from every state in the nation and more than 125 countries around the world. Cleveland Clinic employs 2,800 physicians and scientists in 120 medical specialties and subspecialties. U.S. News & World Report consistently names Cleveland Clinic as one of the nation's top five hospitals in its annual "America's Best Hospitals" survey.

Quick Facts:

  • Founded in 1921
  • 4.6 million patient visits per year
  • 2,800 physicians and scientists
  • Located in Cleveland, Ohio; Weston, Florida; Toronto, Canada; Las Vegas, Nevada; and in coming in 2013, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
  • Outcomes data are published annually and are available at
  • The Neurological Institute includes 18 centers, each dedicated to a subspecialty of neurology and neurosurgery.